HB Health Consumer Council

HB Health Consumer Council is calling for a new Independent Chair. This is an opportunity for anyone who has an interest in health and wants to make sure the consumer voice is heard. Applications close 26 June 2017.
Click here for more 'Request for Nominations for Indpendent Chair' 

What we do

The Hawke's Bay Health Consumer Council, was the first of its kind in New Zealand when set up mid 2013.  The Council provides a consumer perspective and advice to Hawke's Bay DHB’s Board and Health Hawke's Bay (PHO) so they can better align services with the needs of the community and provide oversight from a consumer perspective.    

The Council seeks to enhance the consumer experience and service integration across the sector, promote equity and ensure services are organised around the needs of consumers within our community.

The appointed Consumer Council members have varied backgrounds and areas of interest within the community. Members are also included on many project teams and involved in regular meetings outside of normal Council meetings.  As the independent Chair, Graeme Norton chairs the monthly Consumer Council meetings held on the 2nd Thursday of each month (except January).  

Hawke's Bay Health Consumer Council members are:

Graeme Norton (Chair), James Henry, Jenny Peters, Olive Tanielu, Heather Robertson, Leona Karauria, Rosemary Marriott, Terry Kingston, Tessa Robin, Malcolm Dixon, Rachel Ritchie, Sarah Hansen and Sami McIntosh.

Supported by: Debs Higgins, HB Clinical Council Representative; Kate Coley, Executive Director People and Quality; Tracy Fricker, Council Administrator; Jeanette Rendle, Consumer Engagement Manager; Linda Duddleldam from Health Hawke's Bay; Ken Foote and Brenda Crene, Company Secretary's Office. 

All meetings are held at Te Waiora Room, Hawke's Bay District Health Board Corporate Office, 2nd floor, GJ Gardner Building, Cnr Omahu Road and McLeod Street, Hastings. Meeting time is 4.00pm - 6.00pm unless otherwise notified.

Meetings dates for 2017

Agendas and Papers

Consumer Meetings 2017
Consumer Meetings 2016