Elective placements for overseas medical students

Applications from overseas medical students who are interested in an elective attachment at Hawke’s Bay Fallen Soldiers' Memorial Hospital are welcomed and accommodated wherever possible.

A fee of NZ$100 (gst/tax incl) per week, payable on arrival, applies to all overseas student placements at Hawke’s Bay Fallen Soldiers’ Memorial Hospital.

Hawke's Bay Fallen Soldiers' Memorial Hospital is a teaching hospital for medical students of University of Otago who are studying at the Wellington Clinical School and places an emphasis on providing elective opportunities to national students; therefore there are only a limited number of international elective placements available each year.  Application should be made well in advance to have the chance of taking an elective at Hawke’s Bay Fallen Soldiers’ Memorial Hospital.  Depending on specialty, placements are usually from 2-6 weeks duration, with some requiring a minimum of 4 weeks.

The following departments do not offer elective student placements:

  • Emergency Department
  • Cardiology
  • Respiratory
  • Neurology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Endocrinology

When seeking elective placements international students should, in the first instance, have the necessary documentation to hand and be able to submit the following paperwork when requesting to be considered for an elective placement:

  • preferred dates of placement
  • current CV 
  • letter from your Dean of Studies confirming you are a bona fide medical student of good standing
  • evidence of a Police Clearance (in English) and within the last 3 years from your country of residence and/or study
  • copy of your Passport photo page
  • check with your university regarding medical indemnity insurance for the duration of your time at Hawke’s Bay Fallen Soldiers' Memorial Hospital.  If your university does not provide indemnity you would need to arrange your own Indemnity Insurance and provide proof.  You may be eligible for MPS Indemnity Insurance, check the MPS website https://www.medicalprotection.org

If you are interested in applying for an elective placement please contact the relevant administrator for your area of interest:

Specialty

Administrator

Gastroenterology
5th or final year only
Applications accepted from August for the following year

Glennis Middleton
glennis.middleton@hbdhb.govt.nz
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6651

Nephrology / Renal
5th or final year only
Placements 4 weeks minimum

2019 placements limited, almost fully subscribed

Heather Nicholas 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 2420
heather.nicholas@hbdhb.govt.nz or

Fiona Francis 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 2421
fiona.francis@hbdhb.govt.nz

ENT
5th or final year only

Wanda Leswick
wanda.leswick@hbdhb.govt.nz
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6647

General Surgery 
5th or final year only
Placements 6-8 weeks only
Dale Littley
dale.littley@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6281 
Orthopaedics 
5th or final year only
Applications accepted August - September only for following year
Meryn Hinton
meryn.hinton@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6925 

Paediatrics 
4th, 5th or final year applications only
Applications accepted August - November for following year
Placements 4 weeks minimum

2019 placements now fully subscribed

Elizabeth Todd
elizabeth.todd@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6711  

Obstetrics & Gynaecology 
5th or final year only
Placements 4 weeks only

2019 placements limited, almost fully subscribed

Fiona Bussell
fiona.bussell@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6052  

Anaesthesia
5th or final year only

2019 placements limited, almost fully subscribed

Cara Baillie
cara.baillie@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 4514  

Intensive Care 
Final year only
Placements 4 weeks minimum

2019 placements limited, almost fully subscribed

Liz Thomas
liz.thomas@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 2751  
Urology 
5th or final year only
Rhonda Jackson
rhonda.jackson@hbdhb.govt.nz 
Phone: 06 878 8109 ext 6941